Rajiv

How do you stay entertained?

In Life, Writing on January 10, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Reference: Daily post at WordPress

“Snowed In”? or “Snowed Under?”

Before I start my todays post, let me tell you, I’m residing at the southern part of India. This part doesn’t really get cold. The min temperature being around 30-32 deg celsius. For details of the Indian Climate, please see my reply to Monica. There is no possible way to get “snowed in” here, unless it is WordPress blog snowing.  :)  That too I guess is stopped since Jan 4th.

I take a slight liberty to tweak the title a bit to suit my post.

I had this in mind, I had to do something new here. There is a benefit of being “no body”, there is no expectations from you. If you do, not unlike others it’s ok nobody is gonna mind it. If you try something new, you get recognized. That’s the beauty of being nobody. I can only hope that someday either Joy Victory ‘The Czar’ or Erica Johnson stumble through my post.😛

image Source: celestialtoystore.blogspot.com

Snowed Under…

Wiktionary says Snowed under means ‘having lot of work‘. Here I am, snowed under.

Being a newcomer to an organization has its pros & cons. You get to learn a lot and every one tries to hand over their petty  jobs to make you learn their job. Initially you are given all kind of small works, which ‘they’ find boring. Then gradually you start taking up more and more responsibilities hence more work. However, I don’ find it different in any organization be it corporate or college.There is a certain scheme to take things ahead for everybody at everyplace.

In my engineering days, we had Workshop Classes. In that class, we used to do all sorts of jobs (they used to call it Jobs). Being a carpenter for a week and making cubes. Being smith the other week and shaping red-hot iron. It was fun🙂  but I was confused. Why Engineers have to all these jobs, Won’t there be carpenter or smith to do it for you?. I posed this question to my father. He said Son, first understand this “There is no such thing called SMALL jobs or BIG jobs.” ” Every job in this world is Important. Don’t run away from work, however small it be. You are going to be Engineer, one day. You must know, how to do things correct way. Then only, you can guide others.” I still remember his words.

How do I entertain myself?

Taking his advice,  I try not to refuse any one. But, sometime I get bogged down being snowed under work. I take 2-3 minutes break. Stroll around, talk to customers, chat with colleagues, listen to their jokes. This makes me feel a bit relaxed.

Did I mention? We have speakers installed in our office, which plays soft instrumental songs. That’s a great stress buster. Slow instrumental music. There is no need to remember what were the words, just flow with the soothing music. I prefer Illayaraja or A R Rahman (instrumentals) or kailash kher. This keeps me fresh and I get back to work to get Snowed under again.🙂

Indian composer A.R. Rahman opens the studios ...

Image via Wikipedia

So, How do you get yourself entertained, when you are ‘Snowed under’?


P.S. : I tried putting a pic of my friend really Snowed under heavy pressure of MBA life, but some error pops in. IO error😦

  1. I Like reading your posts, get to know your aspects of life.
    At present i don’t work so i am preparing for Snowing down.

    • That was really quick Abhishek. Thanks🙂
      What you do? Study? or preparing for Exams?
      Share you thoughts, what you do to get your self entertained, when you get bored:)

  2. I like that you were “snowed in” with over loaded work. Here in USA we have many “snowy” days. The meaning of the word is different for you and it is different from me. See, we can learn from one another.

    • never been snowed in , but yeah Snowed under🙂

      • BTW (by the way), a more common use of “snowed” without a preposition is: Fooled by someone’s lies. In a sentence: He tries to snow me over and over; or, you have “snowed” me for the last time.

        But, I loved your pictorial depiction of “Snowed-under.”
        Ciao!,
        Charlie

Do leave a reply...

