Rajiv

Why did I start?

In Blog, Writing on January 13, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Reference: The Daily Post #14

I started blogging somewhere in 2005-06 but it had been on and off. My first blog started with google. It was more of a personal diary on a web page. Before that I had written any and everything in a rough notebook, bought in Kilos. (yes, rough notebooks are also sold in kilo in some places). I still find some notes very vivid. One of my favourite was the note I wrote on snake dance.

This was when I was in second year, Engineering College. It was hot day, to add to the agony it was the eve of University paper. Everyone was seriously into the books borrowed from someone who had finished his preparation. Suddenly some one yelled from the roof top. Some 20-30 boys came running. The sight that was before them was amazing  :) . Two snakes were wrapped in themselves. Dancing or having sex? No body has any clue. That image is still vivid. It was something like this, but more beautiful than this.

It was more beautiful than this.

 

Then I got busy in life and blogging almost stopped. One of my friends, who owns a self-publishing company invited me to WordPress. That was long before I actually started writing seriously on WordPress. I was always interested in writing (I know how bad I write, I needed to improve). What could have been better than thousands of readers suggesting you improvement. Then the opportunity came in the form of The Daily Post, where I could write and learn from others.

Guys, this the opportunity of a lifetime for me.

The logo of the blogging software WordPress.

Image via Wikipedia

P.S.

1. I beleieve, I’ve not done justice to this post. Might write another one on the same topic.

2. I’m not much of a wild life enthusiast and certainly not a snake lover, but certain things when you see it for the first time. It’s just wonderful.

3. My engineering college batch mates and juniors, in particular H-2, can relate to the story. For others it would give a wrong impression.

3. Let me clarify for other readers, The snake-story, India is not a country where  People love and EAT snakes😉 It just so happened to be at the moment I was present.

  1. Hey Rajiv,

    What could have been better than thousands of readers suggesting you improvement. Then the opportunity came in the form of The Daily Post, where I could write and learn from others.
    Guys, this the opportunity of a lifetime for me.

    I kind of feel the same way. Of course English is my native tongue but I could blog in Spanish, German, and French, but that would take a lot of time. The Germans are very unforgiving on grammatical errors. My style is OK, but I mess up the cases, because everything: nouns, adjectives, articles, pronouns, adverbs, are all declined. Their prepositions are: either all dative (7 of them) accusative (8) and then others can be either case depending on use. Oooh do they love rules!

    Oy vey…the snakes are hilarious.

    Ciao!
    Charlie

    • That’s great. Writing in three different languages. I try writing in two. Hindi, as it’s my mother tongue and in English.
      Thanks for coming by charlie🙂

      • Hi Rajiv,

        Let me clarify for other readers, The snake-story, India is not a country where People love and EAT snakes😉 It just so happened to be at the moment I was present.

        Holy Cow, Rajiv!
        I don’t think there is a culture anywhere in the world that has anything to do with snakes. God made them crawl on their bellies ever since the Garden of Eden…
        Ciao!
        Charlie

  2. Reading your post refreshed the memories. It was our batch creating the ruckus as we were just back after our exam and had the next one after two days.

    And to add to the post: I think someone mentioned that if you drop a piece of red cloth to cover the snakes, it would bring good luck.🙂

  3. Oh well, it doesn’t work like it says. HELP?

  4. […] Rajiv said on Why did I start? January 14, 2011 at 7:14 am […]

  5. Hi Rajiv,
    thanks for wirting and publishing!
    Like it very much.
    Best regards!
    manu

Do leave a reply...

