Rajiv

Who is a teacher?

In Crazy, Pictures, quote, Thoughts, Writing on February 8, 2011 at 12:00 am

I am going to keep it Short.

The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.
-William A. Ward

The teacher who is indeed wise does not bid you to enter the house of his wisdom but rather leads you to the threshold of your mind.
-Khalil Gibran


One can’t be a good teacher, if s/he doesn’t believe what s/he teaches. I feel, teaching is a tough job. One has to go to the level of student to make them understand. I, myself, am a pathetic teacher. I get irritated very often, if someone fails to understand. You can say, it’s my inability to go deep down that level and make them understand. For hat matter, My younger brother is definitely good. Even when I had difficulty understanding any concept, I’d consult him and He would explain things very clearly.

Student

Image via thebigbangfair.co.uk

Teacher

Image via Amazon.com

In general, if you see today, teaching has become more or less a profession. Just a medium to earn money-TAX FREE money. That urge to pass on the knowledge is missing most of the time.
Who is a teacher? One who teaches you. right? In that way, you learn lots of things from several people, then are all of them your teacher?

Post idea from The daily Post

  1. I agree that not everyone can be a teacher. Teaching (more training) is something I always enjoy. If 6 out of 7 people get it I try a couple different approaches to then help that one person out. My wife is an actual middle school teacher who is always trying to inspire and grow her children in her particular subject (English) as well as Social Awareness. The problem is, not all teachers are built this way. Some see it as a job and nothing more and others do it for the 3 months off in the summer. As for tax free money, that’s not the case here in Pennsylvania but I’m sure that’d be an incentive to get people who don’t care about teaching as much to be lured in to the profession.

    • Thanks for sharing your views Matt🙂
      I perceive Training to be more practical oriented than teaching. Training mostly comes from the experiences -good or bad. One learns out of it. Teaching however is different. One tries to teach his knowledge which might not be the output of his experiences. right?
      Teaching is an art and one who master it well is able to pass on the wisdom to next generation. You can’t spoon feed every student. A teacher must be like a beacon. I liked your approach to give special attention to any particular student who fails to get the point.
      My biggest fear is, given my short temper, I wonder how would I teach my kids.
      As for the teaching as a profession, If one puts his soul into it, It’s good, otherwise it’s not worth it.
      It’s a source of Tax free money at least in India.
      Thanks again for coming by, Matt. It was nice listening you.

  2. A very interesting approach to the field of education.
    Teachers’ demanding role is multi-sided if you think of the fact that they also shape the soul and the mind of their students apart from simply communicating knowledge successfully.
    Besides, the good rapport they develop with their students,is the most important feature of teaching,a necessary tool in their hands for effective feedback,response and job satisfaction of course, to keep them going…
    From a Greek WordPresser

  3. Good post! I agree. Teaching is not for everyone. Also, it is not profession like others. You don’t do it just to earn money, you have a great responsibility. Thanks for sharing.

    • You are welcome Kien,
      teaching is indeed a great responsibility. You are in charge of preparing a new line for the future and it matters most when you are shaping a child just like a potter does with its pottery.
      Thanks for coming by🙂

Do leave a reply...

